Google+ Followers

Search This Blog

Wednesday, 15 May 2013

Rewind: 14th May 1982 - The Release of Combat Rock - The Clash

May 14th 1982 was the release date for the fifth studio album from The Clash (and the last to feature Topper Headon and Mick Jones).

On release it entered tha album charts in the UK at number 2 and spent 23 weeks in the chart. In the US it peaked at number 7 and spent 61 weeks on the chart. It is by far the biggest selling album by The Clash.

Originally slated to be a double album entitled 'Rat Patrol From Fort Bragg' (see below), that plan was thwarted when Mick Jones' mix of the album was rejected by fellow band members. Glyn Johns was brought in to sort out the mess and it was eventually released as a single album containing 12 tracks and not the 18 (or 16 depending on what copy of the Bootleg you own) that were part of the 'Fort Bragg' mixes. 

Prior to the release of the album Topper was asked to leave the band due to his drug addiction that that was not only harming himself but the band also. Terry Chimes stepped in for the live dates that were to follow. Topper's departure seemingly caused a lot more friction between Joe and Mick. One of Topper's last brilliant contributions to the band was 'Rock the Casbah' on which he not only plays drums but also the bass and piano that are heard on the record. 'Casbah' would be a massive hit for The Clash in the USA reaching number 8 on the chart (though it only reached number 30 in the UK). The Clash would play support to The Who on dates of their US tour and the show from Shea Stadium was released in 2008.

Terry Chimes would eventually leave the band in 1983 fed up with all the infighting and Pete Howard would replace him for the final show that Mick Jones ever played with the band on May 28th 1983 at the US Festival in San Bernardino, California.

Side One

Side Two

 Playlist for Rat Patrol from Fort Bragg. Two tracks are missing from it ('Overpowered by Funk' and 'Inoculated City')

Rat Patrol from Fort Bragg track list

  1. "The Beautiful People Are Ugly Too" – 3:45
  2. "Kill Time" – 4:58
  3. "Should I Stay or Should I Go" – 3:05
  4. "Rock the Casbah" – 3:47
  5. "Know Your Rights" (extended version) – 5:04
  6. "Red Angel Dragnet" – 6:12
  7. "Ghetto Defendant" – 6:17
  8. "Sean Flynn" – 7:30
  9. "Car Jamming" – 3:53
  10. "Inoculated City" – 4:32
  11. "Death Is a Star" – 2:39
  12. "Walk Evil Talk" – 7:37
  13. "Atom Tan" – 2:45
  14. "Overpowered by Funk" (demo) – 1:59
  15. "Inoculated City" (unedited version) – 2:30
  16. "First Night Back in London" – 2:56
  17. "Cool Confusion" – 3:10
  18. "Straight to Hell" (extended version) – 6:56
Post a Comment

Blog Archive

Popular Posts