Google+ Followers

Search This Blog

Tuesday, 8 September 2015

Rewind: 1978 - Tracks On Wax 4 - Dave Edmunds

Tracks On Wax 4 - Dave Edmunds
Swan Song
Produced by Dave Edmunds
Released 8th September 1978

Tracks on Wax 4 is a 1978 album by Dave Edmunds. The record was the first Edmunds solo effort to feature all four members of the band Rockpile: Edmunds, Billy Bremner (who also wrote two of the album's songs under the pen name Billy Murray), Nick Lowe, and Terry Williams.

The album's eighth song, "Thread Your Needle" was originally recorded by the Ohio-based R&B duo Dean and Jean (Welton Young and Brenda Lee Jones).

The album's final song, "Heart Of The City", was originally recorded by Nick Lowe as a Stiff Records single in 1976. A live version performed by Rockpile was released on Lowe's album Jesus of Cool (also 1978) and Edmunds used the same backing track, but overdubbed his own lead vocals in place of Lowe's.

The song "Trouble Boys" was covered by Thin Lizzy in 1981 and released on 7 inch single.

Post a Comment

Blog Archive

Popular Posts